Your daily devotional by Dag Heward-Mills (20th June, 2015)

Posted: June 20, 2015 in Advice, Bible, Bible Commentary, Christianity, Devotional, Inspirational, Quiet Time, Religion, Words Of Wisdom

June 20, 2015

AN EXAMPLE

Dag Heward-Mills

READ: 1 Timothy 4:12-16

For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.

John 13:15

Consider the Scriptures below.You may wonder why I have quoted these Scriptures. What is the correlation between them? The first one speaks about Jesus’ prayer life whilst He was on earth. The second one speaks of Peter’s prayer life after Jesus had left.

“Who in the days of his flesh,when he had offered up prayers and supplications with strong crying and tears…” (Hebrews 5:7).

“But we will give ourselves continually to prayer, and to the ministry of the word” (Acts 6:4).

Jesus taught His disciples to pray by example. Jesus did not only teach about prayer. He acted prayer. He lived prayer. That is why Peter was so determined not to be distracted from his prayer life. Remember that your example is more important than your words.

Many years ago, a man advised me to listen to what the priest said but not to follow his example. How strange! It is very difficult to follow somebody’s words and not his example.

An old Chinese proverb pasted in the physiology laboratory in my former medical school said, “I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand.” This proverb tells us all about the power of influencing people through what they see. You never forget what you see.

Did you know that you only retain about eleven per cent of what you hear? Dear friend, do you want to be a leader? Please remember that your example is more important than your words

Leave a Reply

