Your daily devotional by Dag Heward-Mills (31st December, 2014)

Posted: Dec 31, 2014 in Advice, Bible, Bible Commentary, Career, Christianity, Daily Inspiration, Devotional, Inspirational, Leadership, Mentor, Motivational, Quiet Time, Quotes, Relationship, Religion, Words Of Wisdom, Worship

December 31, 2014

RECOVERY

Dag Heward-Mills

READ: Hebrews 12:3-13

O Lord, by these things men live, and in all these things is the life of my spirit: so wilt thou recover me, and make me to live.

The word salvation also means “to rescue”. Christ has rescued us from deep waters.

You can recover from a bad situation. Esther’s plight was pathetic; she had neither mother nor father (Esther 2:7). That is a serious handicap with which to begin life. But Esther recovered beautifully and rose to the highest of heights.

Some of you have been involved in all kinds of sin. I remember speaking to some church members one day when a lady came up to me. She said, “Pastor, I don’t want to ever go back to my past.” As I looked at her I heard the voice of the Holy Spirit say to me, “This woman was a prostitute.”

So I asked her, “What work did you do?” As she looked at me, tears welled up in her eyes and she said, “I was a prostitute.” I said to her, “Daughter, you can recover! You will not go back to that life anymore.”

There is an anointing to recover. Perhaps you have been used and discarded by many men. Your heart and emotions are deeply scarred from your experiences. You no longer have confidence in yourself and no longer believe in people. As He raised up Esther, God will surely raise you up!

Looking at Esther’s background, one would never have predicted that she could be queen. She was an orphan and a refugee. How could she amount to anything? But our God is a God who specializes in making something out of nothing.

Leave a comment